No-Poo-ing??

I just no-pooed for the first time, and my hair looks and feels awesome! For those of you unfamiliar with the no-poo method of hair cleansing, its simple: stop washing your hair with shampoo and conditioner, start cleansing with baking soda and apple cider vinegar! I admit, I was very sceptical. But after one try, my hair is soft and shiny and very clean! The vinegar is somehow really amazing at conditioning! I look forward to seeing (i think) the long term effects of no-poo-ing! And just think of the money I will be saving! Ditching chemicals AND saving money…..awesome!

If you want to give it a try yourself, here’s what you do:

Step 1: Throw away all your shampoo and conditioner
Step 2: Purchase two condiment “squirt bottles” (.97 cents each), baking soda, and apple cider vinegar (ACV).
Step 3: In one bottle mix up 1 part baking soda to 1 part water (shake well). In the second bottle blend ACV and water, 50/50.
Step 4: Wet your hair, pour the baking soda mix on your scalp working front to back row by row. Massage your head for a minute or to, rinse well
Step 5: Apply small amount of ACV mix to ends of hair. Rinse well.
Step 6: Dry, style as usual.

Now back to food. Today was another success. Almonds and blackberries for breakfast, and some tasty deer sausage from my co-worker’s hubby’s latest kill for a mid-morning snack! And tonight I made an amazing strawberry, spring mix, pecan, and goat cheese salad with a homemade honey-dijon vinegarette. I also bought this awesome water bottle thats bpa-free and filters water on the go, to hopefully encourage my water in take….AND it cuts down on my water bottle waste! Another two-fer!! 

Leave a comment